jump to navigation

Abortion illegal in South Dakota? March 7, 2006

Posted by Karen in Rant.
add a comment

You have no idea how sad this makes me. What year is this?

This makes me sad for the women of South Dakota, who are now deemed incapable of deciding what’s best for themselves. Or even worse yet, those that may feel forced to try and perform unsafe procedures to end unwanted pregnancies. It’s a giant step back for the U.S. as a nation.

Check out this link for more info

Life without Internet March 7, 2006

Posted by Karen in Rant.
add a comment

I didn’t know it would be so tough.

We have DSL at home, and something has gone horribly awry which has left us connection-free for over a week.

In one sense, it’s freeing. I’m not a slave to the computer. I’m not even tempted to sit down and check my work e-mails (or answer them, or even stress about them!) In another sense, I also can’t get emails from friends and family…and perhaps most painful is my complete inability to look anything up.

Which begs the questions, what the hell did I ever do before the Internet? How did I find phone numbers? Look up store hours? Hunt for programs? Pay my bills?? They’re all online, and I don’t access them from work.

Now it stands to reason that I’d have a harder time administering some of my side-web-projects without home Internet access, but who knew how disturbing that would be?

I’m told the problem is now in the hands of Bell Canada, not my ISP. They’ve done all they can, and we have too.

So please, blogosphere…let’s all hold cyber-hands and hum in unison that connectivity will return to my house without delay.

Work with me, people.